Man he was a cool guy. At this point I hope you know that not everything you read on the internet is true. There's actually been a lot of misconceptions going around about certain items that contain gluten, but actually do not! Here are some of the top 10 most common items that people mistake for containing gluten. I even thought some of these contained gluten for a while!
Note that this list applies to the U.S. only. Other countries may have different practices that causes this list to be incorrect outside of the U.S.
The following items and ingredients below are gluten-free:
Soy - Soy is 100% gluten-free and a separate source from gluten. It is important to understand that most soy sauce is not gluten-free. This is because soy sauce often contains wheat, not because of the soy itself. Soy as an ingredient is gluten-free.
Corn Flakes - As an ingredient, they do not contain gluten. However, brands of cereal that use corn flakes often include malt flavoring as well which would cause it not to be gluten-free. More info.
Modified Food Starch - It is generally derived from corn and will be gluten-free unless stated otherwise on the label. The only time it will not be gluten-free is if it says in the allergen section, "contains wheat".
Envelope Seals - A HUGE misconception is that wheat is used for the seal that you lick on an envelope. This is not true. According to the international Envelope Manufacturers Association, "Remoistenable adhesives are derived from corn starch and do not contain wheat or rye gluten." More info.
Caramel Coloring - "Corn is used to make caramel color in the U.S. The FDA does permit use of barley malt but all major caramel color producers say corn makes a better product. This ingredient is gluten free. It is usually made from corn, beet sugar or molasses." - Gluten Free Living Magazine
Carbs - Some people who are newly gluten-free think that all carbs contain gluten. This is completely false as carbs are in many naturally gluten-free foods and have absolutely nothing to do with the ingredient, gluten.
Rice / Potatoes - People who are not gluten-free often think rice or potatoes contain gluten. (You'll probably hear it from restaurant waiters) It's easy to know that rice and potatoes are gluten-free as individual ingredients. However, some restaurants may add ingredients to the rice that may cause it to contain gluten. Always ask just in case.
Whey - Whey is mistakenly thought of to contain wheat due to it's similar name. It is actually 100% gluten-free and is a type of milk protein completely separate from wheat.
Buckwheat - Another common ingredient that people worry about containing gluten because of the name. Buckwheat is 100% gluten-free and is not associated with gluten at all. It is actually a seed, in matter of fact, and is safe for celiacs. More info.
Wheatgrass - Pure wheat grass and barley grass (just the grass, with absolutely no seeds) do not contain gluten. However, while wheat grass and barley grass in their pure forms are considered gluten-free, it matters how they're harvested and how products containing them are produced. If the harvesting is done with cross contamination in mind, it is considered to be gluten-free and safe for celiacs. Make sure to call the manufacturer or ask about the wheatgrass being gluten-free before consuming it. More info.
Please note that a lot of these items contain other allergens that people may react to. Soy and corn are very commonly seen allergies to be linked with being gluten-free. I recommend getting tested for all food allergies so you can be aware of everything you have to avoid on your diet.
Are there any common items that you think may contain gluten? Comment below!