By now you've probably all heard about the new gluten-free options coming to both Pizza Hut and Coors Light. If you haven't heard about this day yet and you're a guy, this is probably the best day of your life. Pizza Hut and Coors announced that they will be offering gluten-free options coming soon by the end of this month. In a way, it's an awesome win for the gluten-free community! But when big companies get involved to the gluten-free industry, you have to wonder if they're going to do it right. Here's all the big things you need to know about both products and when you can see them coming soon!
Gluten Free Pizza from Pizza Hut:
Is it made separately from the other pizzas?
"Pizza Hut® is proud to offer pizzas with gluten-free ingredients, but Pizza Hut kitchens are not gluten-free environments. Due to the handcrafted nature of our menu items, variations in vendor-supplied ingredients, and our use of our common cooking and preparation areas, we cannot assure you that our restaurant environment or any menu item will be completely free of gluten. Please advise a manager if you have a gluten intolerance when you place your order, and consider your individual dietary needs when ordering."
Is it safe for celiacs?
"Pizza Hut® partnered with the Gluten Intolerance Group (GIG) to create a Gluten-Free Pizza preparation process and training standards for Pizza Hut restaurants to mitigate the risk of cross-contamination. This includes training our team members to take specific precautions when making these pizzas, and we encourage consumers to notify a manager if they have a gluten intolerance when placing an order."
Where will it be available?
"Gluten-Free Pizza is offered in about 2,400 Pizza Hut® restaurants nationwide, but we plan to continue to roll it out across the nation based on consumer demand."
To summarize the above, this seems like the safest option you have when it comes to ordering pizza but no establishment is 100% safe for celiacs since other gluten ingredients are used in the environment. Many things are done to reduce the risk of cross contamination so the decision is always a personal choice. For more about the new Gluten Free options from Pizza Hut, Click Here.
How is the gluten-free beer made differently compared to normal beer?
"To make the beer gluten-free, Coors will replace barley with brown rice, malted brown rice and protein from peas. The beer must also be made separately from beers that contain gluten in order to comply with gluten-free certification rules."
Is the gluten-free Coors Peak safe for celiacs?
"Our brewers have developed a proprietary brewing process that is specifically designed to deliver a 100% naturally gluten free beer worthy of the Coors name."
Where will it be available?
"It will only be in Portland and Seattle, and MillerCoors has no plan on its expanding its availability, due to what the brewer says are "production limitations."
To summarize the above, this new gluten-free option will be safe for celiacs since it is made in a separate facility and is naturally gluten-free! Unfortunately for most people, it will not be available in many areas.
In general, I feel pretty happy about these gluten-free options being available to so many people! If you read more into the new gluten-free options from Pizza Hut, you will see that they put a lot of thought into trying to make it as safe as possible. I much rather them be realistic and say, "we can't guarantee it will be 100% gluten-free" instead of them saying it is safe. As for the beer, I think it's great Coors is doing it the right way. They could of easily made it in a shared facility for all the fad dieters out there, but instead they made it in a separate facility to guarantee the beer to be 100% gluten-free. I believe that this is a step in the right direction to making more gluten-free options available, but we obviously still have a long way to go when it comes to raising more awareness.
What do you think about these new gluten-free options? Will you try them if you get the chance? Comment below!