BHT is a commonly seen ingredient in a lot of today's foods. It's been shown to cause a lot of problems, especially to those with a BHT sensitivity which usually goes unseen. A lot of people who are gluten-free are actually reported to have a BHT sensitivity as well. BHT is used in many gluten-free products to preserve flavor and is definitely an ingredient you should become more aware of which I help you with in this post.
- BHT is a common ingredient used to preserve a food’s color, odor, and flavor.
- Some people who are gluten-free are also shown to have BHT sensitivities as well.
- Many people mistake BHT symptoms for gluten symptoms since they are very similar.
- BHT is 100% free of gluten, however, you should be checked out to see if you have a BHT sensitivity is you still deal with glutened like symptoms.
- BHT is also used to treat herpes and cold sores....why are we eating this?
Most common symptoms of a BHT sensitivity:
- Mood changes
- Behavior changes
- Disturbed sleep
- Sinus pain
- Throat swelling
Where it's banned:
Why it's banned:
- In a study done in 1970, it was shown to cause cancer in the animals it was tested on.
- It has been shown to cause liver and kidney damage, behavioral problems, infertility, weakened immune system, birth defects, cancer; should be avoided by infants, young children, pregnant women and those sensitive to aspirin.
More info and sources:
Are you going to try and avoid BHT now or do you avoid it already? Comment below!