Hidden gluten in products list:
Alcohol: I'm sure most of you know that beer is not gluten-free unless labeled so. However, there are many other types of alcohol that may be distilled from wheat, rye or barley that may contain gluten. It is believed that the distillation process removes all the gluten but I say you can never be too careful. Always check before you drink. Here's a Gluten-Free Drinking Guide!
Chips: When at a restaurant or buying at a store, chips are an easy contender for hidden gluten. Some restaurants actually fry their chips. Some brands actually add seasoning or additives to their chips that contain gluten. Always check with the restaurant or read labels to be sure. Here is a Gluten-Free Chip List to help!
Chocolate and Truffles: Many people don't suspect chocolate or truffles to contain gluten but a lot of them actually do! Truffles often contain malt flavoring added to them as well as barley in some cases. Pure chocolate is usually ok but some brands can have cross contamination issues as well. Always check labels and definitely beware of truffles as they almost always contain gluten.
Coffee: This is another that I've tried to make people more aware of since it really can be one people drink every day that's making them sick. Some coffee brands add flavoring and additives which may contain gluten. But the biggest problem seems to be cross contamination with the distribution of the coffee beans and the brewing of the coffee in restaurants as well. To be safe, I created this Gluten-Free Coffee List to help!
Ice-Cream: There are many cases where the ice-cream you are buying may easily contain gluten. Flavors with chunks of cookies or treats in them are obvious to spot out. But some generic brands may add gluten and other additives as well. For your convenience here is a gluten-free list for Edy's Ice-cream, Haagen Dazs Ice-cream, Breyers Ice-cream, and So Delicious Ice-cream!
Lotions and shampoos: It's very important to check the ingredients of all your lotion and shampoo products. This is one I don't think many people consider reading the label on and I think is one that people should be made more aware of. Also if you have a dairy allergy, checking for milk ingredients in these is critical too. (I get bad skin reactions from some so be aware!)
Make up: Just because a make up may be labeled as natural doesn't mean it is always gluten-free. A lot of you may get breakouts or bad skin reactions due to the make up you may be using. To help, here is a gluten-free make up list from MAC, a gluten-free make up list from Bare Escentuals, and a disclaimer from NARS about gluten in their make up products!
Medication: It can be very hard to figure out whether a medication is gluten-free or not but it should be something you are very aware of as it can be life threatening. I have created a Gluten-Free Medication List to help but ALWAYS read the ingredients of your medicine or consult your doctor before hand. This is obviously the most serious one.
Pet food and treats: If your pet is eating food that contains gluten you could be actually cross contaminating yourself without knowing it. For me it's fun to say my dog Teddy is gluten-free but it really could be a lot more beneficial than I think. It's important to get gluten-free pet food if you want to be as safe as possible! Here's my video on Gluten-free Pet Food too!
Processed meats: Deli meats and the meats you get over the counter are almost always free of gluten. However the packaged pre-cut meats you find in the store have many additives and fillers that can very easily contain gluten. Check labels on these for sure but if I were you, I would stick to the deli to be safest.
Sauteed meats: Some restaurants actually douse their meat in egg, milk, or flour before they cook it. It may be hard to know this unless you ask so always be careful with meats you order and never assume they are guaranteed gluten-free.
Seasonings: This can range from taco seasoning you buy in packets to seasoning that restaurants put on their meats. Always make sure to check labels of the seasoning you are using and to check with the staff at restaurants as well. You can never be too careful!
Soy Sauce: This is a big one as almost all soy sauces are derived from wheat. It is very important when dining out that you know about the sauce you are eating. Even bringing your own would be 100% necessary!
Sports Drinks: Gatorade, powerade, and many others are all listed to be gluten-free according to their site. However, many people with celiac claim they have many issues with these. (I do as well) So what's wrong with them?
- After doing research and trying to figure it out I discovered that it may have to do with the high amount of concentrated high fructose corn syrup or the sugars being used in them. I would always notice headaches, fogginess, or trouble concentrating more than anything. If you do notice these things then it may be best to avoid these drinks in general.
Toothpaste: Many have expressed that toothpaste has been something that's been a major product that can contain gluten. I have not come across many that do contain gluten, but I created this Gluten-free Tooth Paste List so you know what's absolutely safe.
Twizzlers, Rice Crispies, Candy, etc: Many candies and treats do contain gluten and may honestly never be known unless you research it. Twizzlers and Rice Crispies are the most common ones people would not think of, but here is a Gluten-free Candy List if it would help as well.
Are there any products that you feel should be added to this list or that you have found hidden gluten in?