McDonald's Oatmeal

Although McDonald's oatmeal is supposed to be natural, it is not gluten free. There is a growing controversy that oatmeal contains gluten anyways, but what McDonald's adds to their oatmeal will definitely make any person, educated or not, realize that it is not at all gluten free.

Note: All info is taken from McDonald's Nutrition Page.

Commercials
Oatmeal-
  • Whole grain rolled oats
  • Brown sugar
  • Food starch-modified
  • Salt
  • Natural flavor (wheat and plant source)
  • Barley malt extract
  • Caramel color
Reality
Light Cream-
  • Milk
  • Cream
  • Sodium phosphate
  • Datem
  • Sodium stearoyl lactylate
  • Sodium citrate
  • Carrageenan
Cranberry Raisin Blend-
  • Sweetened dried cranberries (sugar, cranberries)
  • California raisins
  • Golden raisins
  • Sunflower oil
  • Sulfur dioxide as a preservative (contains sulfites)
Added-
  • Blueberries
  • Walnuts
  • Diced apples
Allergens: Milk, Wheat

Even though oats have been shown to possibly contain gluten and this is an on going controversy, their is no reason these extra ingredients should be added. The fact is the fast food industry is never safe, even if the product is sold as organic & natural it can never be trusted. 
NewerStories OlderStories Home

8 comments:

  1. It always amazes me how fake the commercial pics are compared to the real thing! Thanks for the info! :)
    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. You're welcome! And I know, It's amazing what's advertized compared to what people really get. I haven't been to fast food in 2 years & I plan to keep it that way for the very reasons given above!

    ReplyDelete
  3. So question. The menu I just uploaded says plant source. It says nothing of wheat flavoring. Where can we get a straight answer?? I will try using SOCIAL MEDIA...starting with FB and then tell you what I got from them!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Hi, I just checked and it does now say plant source when it originally said wheat and plant when I copied it from the text. Either way malt barley extract is an ingredient containing gluten that you should definitley stay away from. Hopefully this helped. Thanks for your comment!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ate the oatmeal today and wished I wouldn't have. Suffering from a horrible stomach ache... Thought the oatmeal would be safe.. Bummer!

      Delete
  5. Great!! I just got glutened :(

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So did my daughter, now she is suffering

      Delete