Being Gluten Free at the Movies

As you know the movies are one of the most favorited things to do on the weekend. Whatever movie you may see there are so many options to choose from you may not know what to pick. Sadly that's not the same with the options of food you have if you are gluten free. Finding foods and drinks at the movie theater can be very difficult. Many people wonder, "Is pop corn gluten free? What drinks can I have? Can I really trust this candy?" These are the last things you want to worry about when you are with friends and want to get to that movie you can't wait to see. That is why I created a list of all the gluten free options you can have at a movie theater and not have to worry about getting a reaction.

First Off: Popcorn is gluten free at nearly any place you go, but there may be a chance of cross contamination which is typical. Also, avoid the flavorings that come out of the dispensers you put on the popcorn yourself. (AMC Confirms Popcorn is gluten-free)

The following below is gluten-free:
  • Skittles
  • Starbursts
  • Welch's Fruit Snacks 
  • Haribo Gummy Bears
  • Jolly Ranchers
  • M&M's 
  • Hershey's Milk Chocolate
  • Peanut M&M's
  • Sour Patch Kids
  • Almond Joy 
  • Smarties (U.S.)
  • Junior Mints
  • Milk Duds
  • Swedish Fish
  • Hot Tamales
  • Lemonheads
  • Mike & Ike
  • Life Savers (All flavors)
  • Nestle's Milk Chocolate (Not Crisp)
  • Air Heads (Produced in facility that contains wheat, so be careful)

Interested to know which restaurants are best for having gluten-free options? Click Here!

NewerStories OlderStories Home


  1. Yum, now I want candy LOL. Several Celiacs I know avoid the popcorn due to risk of cross-contamination (hot dog buns, etc.) so last time I was afraid to get it :(

  2. Yea, I personally avoid the popcorn too due to the risk of cross contamination since I'm highly sensitive. But for the average gluten-free person it should be fine! And I know, candy does sound good now..haha!

  3. There are a few theaters I know that the popcorn is NOT safe at, (I get really really really sick at the one in downtown Los Angeles L.A. Live) but usually am ok.
    I never have problems with slurpies. I get them at theaters and 7-11 all the time. And since I have had celiac for 12 years I am super sensitive so any cross contamination or gluten I am rushing for the closest bathroom.
    love your blog btw

  4. Thanks for your input! I also am very sensitive but really haven't had much popcorn so I can add a caution of cross contamination. Thank you again!

  5. Well this kind of information is really worth searching for, good information for readers and a value for you as will definitely show the quality of the writer. It’s good to have these kinds of articles around to keep the information flow steady. Helping those who really can make things right in the future, good work!

    buy movies

  6. Thank you! That really meant a lot to hear and I'm glad to hear it's helping in a way like this. Thanks again!

  7. Thank you for this! As a newbie to gluten free, this makes me feel ok about going to the movies.

  8. Great list!
    All I can think about right now is that America has Gluten Free Smarties and Canada doesn't...

  9. Thanks! And wow, really? I never knew Canada didn't have smarties that are gluten-free. I'm sure there are other things on this list you can find though. Thanks for the comment!

  10. Smarties have wheat flour listed as an ingredient, may want to double check that one.

  11. Are you sure? I just checked their website and it said it was guaranteed gluten-free and safe for celiacs. Here's the link..

  12. Ohhh....I think I know where the confusion happened with the Smarties. US Smarties are similar to what we call "Rockets" in Canada (the round, slightly sour candies that are popular at Halloween). In Canada, Smarties are similar to M & M's.

  13. Ohh ok, haha. I thought that might of been the confusion but wasn't sure. I can clarify that on this post if you think it would help others out there.

  14. Yup. Boo for Smarties in Canada (chocolate candy like M&Ms, not the 'rockets'). Just looked at the ingredient list at the grocery store the other day and saw the wheat. Disappointing!

  15. My 11 year old son has Juvenile Arthritis and has been GF for about 6 months now. Being GF has helped reduce his inflammation moreso than any of his meds! Because we're fairly new to the GF lifestyle, I try very hard to ensure he has options wherever we go. He gets so excited to learn about new options when we go out. I'm taking him to see a movie today, so I was happy to find out that he can have popcorn (going to AMC). He also loves Mike & Ikes, so he's very happy about that as well. Thank you for the information!!
    All the best,

  16. hi, i have been having issues and i think i may be gluten free, how did you know you were gluten free? what were the 'signs'??